RSS Feed

Masha i Medved

Posted on

I will not be surprised if the Little Creature would start speaking in Russian one of these days. Who knows, whatever it is that he’s babbling about these days, he must be babbling in Russian already.

He and I stumbled upon Masha and the Bear animated series while we were browsing through YouTube, while watching the Green Gummi Bear, Despicable Me Minions and Baby Einstein.

Masha and the Bear

I did some research and found out that the animated series is based on a Russian folk tale  of the same title. In the folk tale, Masha, the precocious child outsmarted the bear who wanted to keep her in his home. In the animated series, there’s this energetic, bouncy, mischievous little girl darting back and forth, here, there and everywhere, most of the time driving her animal friends, especially Bear (Mishka), nuts.

Masha and the Bear

I guess one of the reasons why I love Masha and the Bear so much is because Masha’s antics, her quick little footsteps, her giggling, her curiosity, her boundless energy and of course, her bangs, remind me of the Little Creature. Probably, a lot of parents see their kids in Masha (and themselves in the Bear).

Masha and the Bear

“Mishka! Mishka!” Masha calls her friend. I did some more research (ok, I’m officially obsessed!). Is it in reference to the 1980 Moscow Olympics Bear Mascot?

Watching the series in Youtube over and over has become our nightly ritual. I don’t even know anymore if we’re watching it for the Little Creature or for me.

Masha and the Bear

All I could hear are lots of “zhvdskys” and “nyhks” and “shchkas” from Masha (Matryoshka! Babushka! Tetris! Perestroika! Ushanka! Eh, these are the only Russian words I know. Oh, wait, “medved” is bear, right?) but the show succeeds in getting the humor, charm, innocence, friendship, and good-naturedness across and in breaking down language barriers.

Masha and the Bear

If I could understand Russian, or if only there are episodes in English (Action item for hubby: find out please!), I’m sure, whatever Masha is saying is even funnier.

Masha and the Bear

Look at that funny face. It’s just oozing with cuteness. 

Masha and the Bear

Masha laughing makes the Little Creature laugh, too, especially during the opening sequence.

Masha sticking out her tongue makes the Little Creature laugh even harder.

Masha sticks her tongue out

Masha loves lollipops shaped like a rooster.

Masha and the Bear

I love it when Masha says, “Oi! Oi! Oi!”

Masha in an Ushanka! What a delight! 

Masha and the Bear

Watching Elmo and Pocoyo every night with the Little Creature would drive me crazy but I could watch Masha and the Bear over and over and over.

About Alias M.

Read on if you're really interested.

9 responses »

  1. Mishka is what we call a bear… it’s sort of hard to explain, but medved is a bear, and mishka is also bear… something you would call a bear when you like the bear. Hmmm. I am not making sense.

    Ok, one’s name could be, say, Carla – but if you like the person, you might call her Carlush. Or Carlita. It’s nice.

    Same with medved and mishka. Nothing to do with the Olympics :)

    Mishka, Misha, is also a form of the male name Mikhail – the Russian equivalent of Michael.

    Reply
    • like a term of endearment? thanks for the explanation. I want to know more about the series but the sites about it that are in English seem very limited. We’re so hooked on the series. These days, I find myself humming to the music and the songs. Masha’s expressions really crack up my son. :)

      Reply
      • Yes, endearment.

        I haven’t watched them yet myself – but from what I’ve heard, the dialogues are cleverly written to appeal to grown-ups, the subtle meaning of which is lost on the kiddies. So everyone can enjoy.

        Reply
  2. I discovered “Masha i Medved” by accident when trying to find a russian cartoon for my son. My wife always wanted to show him lovely but old cartoons from 1970′s and 1980′s. I do not deny that Soyouzfilm cartoons are lovely and very nice, but Masha is sooooo fun ! Moreover, my son who is almost 1year 1/2 old now, is really like her in the daily life: running everywhere, making us crazy but lol too, laughing all the time and loud, doing many things he should not…
    Now, we are all watching Masha at home when it’s lunch time for our son. The problem is that we are ALL watching the movie, and nobody eats…. :))))))

    Reply
  3. best targets from http://goo.gl/JZOPh

    Hi there every one, here every person is sharing these
    kinds of experience, therefore it’s good to read this website, and I used to pay a quick visit this web site everyday.

    Reply
  4. We have recently discovered Masha also and are completely hooked. I’m pretty sure my 17month old is also speaking Russian. In some of the episodes she points and says ” yonka, yonka” she does it a lot in the one where she ruins mishka’s Christmas tree and details Santa. My 4 year old has been saying it all over but we have no idea what it means. It’s good to know there are others out there that share this obsession!

    Reply
  5. Pingback: Passenger #2 is a… | This Little Creature

Leave a Reply

BETWIXT AND BETWEEN

Just Being Thoughtful

just a dad with disney questions

reading into things way too much...

nirupamaprv

Opinions of a Catty, Book-loving, Couch Potato

The Monching's Guide

Food, Reflections, & Basically How To Live Life As A Forever Alone Guy

Okasaneko Chronicles

A Tubby Tabby, Three Konekos, and a Life with Hello Kitty, Sylvanian Families, and Autism

mumtwothreefour

Muddling through family life

life letters

listen to your mother

mummyshymz

A platform to share a full-time working mother's learning journey with her two children

Long Live Go

Adventures in parenting Mr. Go

Pink Laundry

survival in housekeeping

Three? Nope... 4 Conejitos

Conejito Cuatro coming May 2014

This Weblog is Unique. Just Like They All Are.

Goings-On In and Around Montclair, NJ

the rigneys

established in 2005

Stir crazy toddler

Surviving life with pre-schoolers

Running After Ale

I'm constantly running after my toddler Ale (Á-le). I'm out of breath and having the best time!

How To Ruin A Toddler's Day

Why everything we do is the worst thing ever!

My Toddler is a Supervillain

Read this blog. You'll instantly feel better about yourself.

The Blog of Otis

Join...CLICK...Treat

Ann Novek--With the Sky as the Ceiling and the Heart Outdoors

Airborne, Seadwellers and Landlubbers Lives

Becoming Sleek

A lady's journey to beauty and makeup

ivancouver604

Eat, be pretty, live, and laugh - Follow my adventures and reviews !

Till 30 n Beyond

...coz there exists no deadline to dreams.

LIFE: everyone has one!

There is always something to smile about!

postcards from the outback

exploring the confluences of parenting, teaching, and the environment

parentingisfunny

One parent's hysteria is another parent's hilarity. (Last names have been omitted to protect the embarrassed.)

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 152 other followers

