Stumbling Upon Something As I Stumble Along

Stumbling along and stumbling upon an idea or thing were common practice in the past few months. As a matter of fact, most of the stuff that inspired my wedding was borrowed from a bevy of ideas I stumbled upon during hours and hours of googling (I sooo love you, Google!) and visits to bookstores.  I bless the days I stumbled upon Polyvore where I was able to make our Save the Date stickers; the couturier who made a very romantic looking gown; a wickedly good wedding photographer who also seemed to enjoy spur-of-the-moment ideas; a second pair of outrageously “purpled” wedding shoes (which to date, was the best ‘last-minute-stumble’ that happened to me).

It isn’t just with the wedding that I use this way of thinking but with life in general as well. Often I find that the best way to discover things is to come upon them unexpectedly.

Through accidental discoveries, spontaneous ideas, on-the-spot decisions, or just pure dumb luck, I go through life unstructured, often without direction or plan, usually stumbling along, but not falling, faltering a bit but not stopping altogether, until I stumble upon a thought, a choice, a conclusion that I think would work out the best.

One lesson reinforced during these past few months was, well, if you find yourself in a period of ‘non-ideas’, the best thing to do is to keep googli – I mean, keep going (keep those lazy brain cells working!)… because chances are, YOU WILL ALWAYS END UP WITH SOMETHING.

(“Aut viam inveniam aut faciam” – I’ll either find a way or make one)


Leave a Reply

