The Code of DEXTER

2w3qt5v

I’ve only watched the first and second seasons on DVD but I find that me likey very much! As I write this, the show is already on its fourth season. Dexter, which started in 2006 is darkly humorous and tackles the moral dilemmas and the nature of good and evil. It’s gory but not tacky like the usual horror movies these days. I like the way Michael C. Hall portrays Dexter.  He makes Dexter out as charming, funny, and well, cute and childlike at times as he wonders about human nature and pretends to feel expected human emotions and reactions to situations to pass off as normal. That must be a difficult role, because on top of that, Michael has to get the audience rooting for his anti-hero character.

Dexter is a serial killer hunting down other serial killers.  He’s in forensics, an expert on blood spatter so he has access to police files and he’s able to hide in plain sight and cover his tracks. He goes through life detached, emotionally blank and claims to be without a conscience. He fakes emotions and he puts up a façade as a normal, socially acceptable person to conceal his true nature.

During the first few episodes, I found the show a little slow, but some of his reactions and mental monologues crack me up, some make me stop and think, “oh yeah” and “right on, dude”. Of course I’m not referring to Dexter’s dark interests.  Although, yeah, I find myself rooting for him to kill the bad guys sometimes.

Liking the quotes:

“Hi. My name’s Dexter – I can’t think of anything clever to say.”

“People are never what they appear to be on the outside. We have to keep up appearances to fit in in this world.”

“People fake a lot of human interactions, but I feel like I fake them all and I fake them very well. 

 “Everyone hides who they are at least some of the time. Sometimes you bury that part of yourself so deeply you have to be reminded it’s even there at all…”

“Most people have a hard time dealing with death, but I’m not most people. It’s the grief that makes me uncomfortable.”

“I like to pretend I’m alone. Completely alone. Maybe post-apocalypse or plague… Whatever. No one left to act normal for. No need to hide who I really am. It would be… freeing.”

 “I don’t get birthdays, the party, the song… Celebrating another year just being alive feels… forced.”

 “I’m the outsider looking in.”

“All you can do is play along at life, and hope that sometimes you get it right.”


6 thoughts on “The Code of DEXTER

  1. Pingback: Grimm «
  2. Pingback: Crimes on TV «
  3. Pingback: The Horror! «

Leave a Reply

