Gossip Girl

OMG! I’m, like, totally being such a teenybopper! Like, so totally! Watching a show about spoiled New York teenagers… everything’s been done before, the plot is silly and trivial, everyone’s making out with each other, the characters are inconsistent and blehh… happy, sad, angry… it’s all the same blank expression of Serena-bot even when Blair’s dissing her outright. Chuck is too pretty so he has to scowl and murmur like Steven Segal to pass off as the troubled teen (of all the people to emulate…). Nate is just there to make out with all the ladies… and maybe soon, the men. Sigh. Maybe I’m just getting old.

So why am I watching this again?

  • They’re all gorgeous.
  • It’s at least entertaining. I never had any expectations so I was not disappointed.
  • It doesn’t take much brain power and energy to watch it especially when I was in that kind of mood where I just want to drift along.
  • I’m, well, let’s face it, superficial.  The world of the young, rich, glamorous and beautiful is fascinating. I wouldn’t really know how real a show of teens with highly exaggerated wealth and control over their wealth is but it’s enough to feed my fancy.
  • The wardrobe – I like Little J’s emo-rocker-chic-whatever fashion sense.
  • I like the gossipy format with Gossip Girl’s voice over
  • Blair’s sarcastic lines — She has the best lines —

 “Don’t worry, I can be bitch enough for both of us.”

“Whoever said that money doesn’t buy happiness didn’t know where to shop.”

“Nothing I can do to you is as bad as what you did to me, but don’t think that will stop me from trying.”

“Go away, Chuck! I’ve been given orders, practically from God himself, to avoid you.”

“I wasn’t aware that robots got jealous. Did they update your software while I was away?”

“Duchess? I’m so sorry, for what I said about the botox. Your work is flawless.”

“Ladies, you can get your tiny brains to rest. Once again the world has proven – anything you can do, I can do better.”

  • I wish I had some piece of that bitchiness in me.
Leave a Reply

