The Little Creature’s First New Year!

happy 2012!

What was I doing while the rest of the world was celebrating and watching the fireworks and singing Auld Lang Syne?

 — Obsessively preparing frozen delights for the Little Creature. (So that’s why women have breasts!)

Ta-da! Let me proudly present the result of many sleepless days and nights and rock-hard breasts and ruined nipples —

ICE CANDIES FROM THE MAMMA VENDING MACHINE

Milk-All-U-Can Buffet for Tristan

Main ingredients: mommy love and a dash of determination.  A drink of that everyday will make a strong-minded young man out of the little creature!

(Warning: May contain Starbucks espresso frap and toblerone.)

Determination has been keeping my mom’s freezer full. I have come a long way since this episode:

“‘I felt tired and lonely and detached from my surroundings, like I was merely some milk machine programmed to feed the baby. I felt like a cow with wrecked udders, breastfeeding was painful, I had difficulty expressing breast milk (I want to feed him with my milk exclusively, until maybe when he’s two years old, or until I can), he was always hungry (he wakes us up almost every hour). I felt degraded. I had to squeeze and milk my own boobies (I only have a manual breast pump which didn’t really do that much except give my hands cramps). It was something no woman should go through.”

Degrading? Of course not! How could I have ever thought that?

I’m a typical good mommy now. Vanity still prevails though. One of the things that had kept me zealously pumping for milk was the thought that had I given up early on, the money I’ve been splurging on clothes and shoes lately would have just gone to infant formula. Booo!

 

One thought on “The Little Creature’s First New Year!

Leave a Reply

