Foundations and then some

Plastering my face all over the site again.  I am such a failure when choosing foundations and, well, cosmetics in general. I’ve used several different brands throughout the years, hoping to find my BFF (Best Foundation Forever)… to no avail. Here are some of the products I’ve been testing. The verdict? I am loving the items in #1 right now, but it looks like we’re still not up for a long term relationship.

1. Dr. Perricone’s No Foundation Foundation and Garnier Light BB Instant Fairness Roll on Eye Cream. So fresh! (and shiny, but I like it). Both brands’ claims are spot on. The No Foundation Foundation is easy to apply on the skin — no cakey, uneven look. Perricone is a bit pricey, though, and it smells funny. I have to admit, that’s not exactly the real shade of my complexion.  I wore the turtleneck for a reason — to hide the contrast between the colors of my face and neck. I’m wearing a peachy lipstick from Etude House but I don’t know what it’s called because the name is in Korean characters. I like the color but it fades after a short while… a very short while.

Dr. Perricone No Foundation Foundation

2. Almay Smart Anti-Aging Foundation SPF 20 in light/medium. White cream that adjusts to the skintone once applied. Smart!… It gives a smooth finish. Still not the ever elusive perfect flawless finish I’ve been hoping for but it will do… for now. Does it really stop aging?  With globulous eyes like those, who would even notice?

Almay Smart Anti-Aging Foundation

3. Maybelline BB Cream and MAC eye concealer: I like the fact that the Maybelline BB Cream is inexpensive. Sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn’t. Maybe it has something to do with the changes in my skin texture that go hand in hand with the changes in the weather. A Mac Book would be more effective in hiding those eyebags from view, not a MAC concealer.

Maybelline BB Cream

4. Laura Mercier Illuminating Tinted Moisturizer SPF 20 in Warm Radiance. Did it work? Am I luminous? Am I glowing? At 4:30 in the morning, I seriously doubt it. Yes, the picture was taken at 4:30am, that’s why I still looked sleepy.  At least the veins on my face aren’t visible. I do like it that it is easy to apply and blend with no cakey feeling. It is lightweight but it’s a little too dewy and shimmery up close so I don’t use it on my forehead. It should be used sparingly or blended with another foundation lest one wants to be a “shining, shimmering, splendid…” piece of metal. I won’t be buying this product again but I might buy another type of Laura Mercier tinted moisturizer.

Laura Mercier Illuminating Tinted Moisturizer

5. The Face Shop Lovely Me: Ex BB Cream SPF 20: The finish isn’t too smooth. It looks cakey and dry up close. It fades easily too. Not liking it and not buying again even if it is affordable. Looks like my eyeballs are going to pop out of the sockets anytime soon. (baa, baa, black sheep have you had any sleep? yes, sir, yes sir 3 hours full…)

The Face Shop Lovely Me BB Cream

6. Clinique Moisture Surge Tinted Moisturizer SPF 15 in Shade 02… (and shine surge)- The finish isn’t smooth, it gets cakey and for some strange reason, it emphasizes my pores up close.  On warm days, it gets too oily. I used the Stila Cherry Crush Lip and Cheek Stain. I like the hint of blush. Just a little goes a long way. Look like I overdid it on my lips. It stays on forever, too, if you’re not planning to wash your face…

Clinique Moisture Surge

7. Clinique Supermoisture Makeup Liquid Foundation in 06 Neutral- (Could somebody tell me what the best eye-‘debagger’ is?) Not liking it too much either. Like the Moisture Surge, it emphasizes my pores, so up close, they look clogged up. Or maybe I just have really bad skin 😦

Clinique Supermoisture Make up

Finally, Dr. Perricone Hypoallergenic Eye Cream.  For 3 months I’ve used this product.Boo to the 100th power.  This one doesn’t work. That’s all I have to say.

One thought on “Foundations and then some

  1. mogispie says:

    The Almay foundation seems to be a good match for you. I’ve noticed that no matter how goo your foundation is, eventually your skin tone changes. Like with seasons, I’m obviously darker in summer. Also depending on what moisteriser I use, it sometimes clashes with the foundation and it turns grey. Change is inevitable.

    Like

Leave a Reply

