Reminiscences: Fine Art

In college, I was secretly crushing on

David. 

Just David.

This David…

…a life-size marble sculpture by Gianlorenzo Bernini completed in the course of seven months from 1623-1624.

When I was in my early college years, while waiting for my dad to pick me up from school, I used to pass the time in the library, reading art books and looking at art pictures (that was when I learned that Leo DaVinci could write in the mirror image way, and because I was a leftie, I tried it and I found that I could write the same way, too. Yeah, the great master and I, we have lots in common). 

One of my favorite artworks was Gianlorenzo Bernini’s sculpture of David.  I used to gaze at the pictures in awe of the beauty and detail of the sculpture and of the genius and skill of Maestro Bernini.  It was different from the Davids of Michelangelo and Donatello’s where David was shown as, umm, chilling out. Bernini chose to depict David in action, gathering his strength, his forehead wrinkled in total concentration and glaring at the unseen Goliath…. He’s behind you! Look out!, as if David wanted to say. If I were standing in front of him, I’d probably look behind my back and then run behind David. “Oh save me! Save this damsel in distress from the jolly mean giant!”

For someone who’s almost 500 years old, he’s a hottie, right? Ha-ha, so I have a thing for shoulders and the torso.  A healthy, fit and well-toned body has huge aesthetic quality and it bespeaks of discipline. I don’t mean muscles bursting with steroids. Eek. That probably implies obsession. The exact opposite, flab, implies laziness.

I have been fortunate to behold a few actual works of some of my favorite artists like Van Gogh, Vermeer, and Rembrandt during my travels in the US. Will I ever find myself at Galleria Borghese in Rome someday to gaze at this beautiful man?

– Gianlorenzo Bernini, December 7, 1598 – November 28, 1680

Leave a Reply

