Christmas is All Around

It may not be one of the best movies of all time but I enjoyed watching the 2003 movie “Love, Actually”. I thought it was sweet (like Rodrigo Santoro sweet). I find the words of the Prime Minister played by Hugh Grant appropriate these days, following the Newtown incident. He said,

“Whenever I get gloomy with the state of the world, I think about the arrivals gate at Heathrow Airport. General opinion’s starting to make out that we live in a world of hatred and greed, but I don’t see that. It seems to me that love is everywhere. Often, it’s not particularly dignified or newsworthy, but it’s always there – fathers and sons, mothers and daughters, husbands and wives, boyfriends, girlfriends, old friends. When the planes hit the Twin Towers, as far as I know, none of the phone calls from the people on board were messages of hate or revenge – they were all messages of love. If you look for it, I’ve got a sneaking suspicion… love actually is all around.”

Bill Nighy’s character, Billy Mack, a has-been rockstar was also funny.

Looking at these pictures, I can’t help but play his spoofy video of  “Christmas is All Around” (his Christmas take on “Love is All Around”) over and over in my head.

About two blocks away from my parents’ house, there lives one very wealthy homeowner in one huge and beautiful fire hazard.

Christmas Lights

Like other homeowners and overstaying house guests, we went gallivanting by the house to ogle and take pictures.

Christmas Lights

Oooh, pretty!

Christmas Lights Filinvest

Whatchagotthere, Mister?

Christmas Lights Filinvest

(The pictures were taken last December 6)

I feel it in my fingers, I feel it in my toes
Christmas is all around me and so the feeling grows

It’s written in the wind, it’s everywhere I go
So if you really love Christmas c’mon and let it snow

You know I love Christmas, I always will
My mind’s made up the way that I feel
There’s no beginning, there’ll be no end
‘Cause on Christmas you can depend

You gave your presents to me and I gave mine to you
I need Santa beside me in everything I do

You know I love Christmas, I always will
My mind’s made up the way that I feel
There’s no beginning there’ll be no end
‘Cause on Christmas you can depend
‘Cause on Christmas you can depend

It’s written on the wind, it’s everywhere I go
So if you really love me c’mon and let it show
C’mon and let it show

So, if you really love c’mon and let it
If you really love me c’mon and let it
Now if you really love me c’mon and let it show

3 thoughts on “Christmas is All Around

    • Alias M. says:

      how nice! hehe. I’ve never been inside but just looking at the decors outside the house was such a treat. I “discovered” it just two Christmases ago when I went jogging 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

