Reminiscences: Love Letters

Back in the golden olden days, during his relentless pursuit of my elusive affections, ex-boyfriend-now-hubby used to flood me with love letters and Hallmark cards.

 

Some were really cheesy!

love letters

We used to give handwritten notes to each other almost everyday. Mine would almost always be about crappy, nonsense things. That’s how I remember them. But how could I confirm when he seemed to have lost them all? Grrr to that. 

His would say things like being the luckiest guy in the world or thanking God for letting our paths cross or saying how much he loved me… cheesy stuff like that. Sometimes, we would give each other notes even during our dates for the other to read when we part ways. I felt like the cheesiest but luckiest girl in the world!

One card was really sweet. He gave it to me in July 20, 2001 when he has completed his training with the Philippine Marines and was about to embark on some dangerous and action-packed assignment. Inside it was a line inspired by Cherokee Indian love songs: “Your soul has become part of my soul. Your heart, part of my heart. Your life, joined with mine…” 

Along with it was his personal message:

“We had just finished talking to each other, and hours from now, I will be leaving for Mindanao for my new assignment. For the past nine months, I really enjoyed being with you. I am very happy that I have found you, and I thank God for it. Now, you are already a part of my life, no matter how long it will take, no matter how far we will be from each other, I promise you, we will be together, now and forever. As I start my career, you will be my inspiration to help me survive. Our sacrifices and trials will make our relationship stronger and I know we can overcome all the challenges that will come along our way. I will always bring with me your trust and I will assure you that you will be my one and only M. I love you.”

Awww… I wonder if he copied some of the lines from somewhere or somebody else. I don’t remember him being that expressive. But still, awww…

So for those of you who would rather do something else than join in on the ruckus out there that is Valentine’s day, here’s something to do at home: Dig up your old love letters and read them alone or together. (Be sure to read them WITH the author of the letters. Try not to start a row on this day of love by reading letters from your exes with your spouse or arm candy of the month). Relive, laugh, and balk at sappy but beautiful old memories.

Happy Valentine’s Day, Everyone!

3 thoughts on “Reminiscences: Love Letters

    • Alias M. says:

      Thanks for liking! It was fun rereading the old letters. I reall did balk at some of the cheesy stuff my hubby wrote. So corny but yet so wonderful 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

