Alfajores de yumyumyum!

A piece (or two) of heaven…

Alfajor

The alfajor has just bumped off  the Trader Joe’s Speculoos Dark Chocolate Bar from the top of my sweet tooth list.

A couple of these delectable cookies awaited me at work and even way before I could turn on my computer (this is before 6am!), one cannonballed into my mouth, leaving residues of white frosting all over my black blouse and cheeks. Yes, yes. I know I should have eaten it slowly…savored every bite, but as is usually the case when it comes to heavenly sweets like this, especially when no one is around to see, I stuffed what could fit into my mouth as fast as I can. Heaven, gone in a few seconds… but oh, what a heaven it was.

Definitely a buenos dias for me and for the little one in my belly! (never mind the tons of pending emails waiting to be read because I was on afternoon leave last Friday.)

The Alfajor relleno con dulce de leche cubierto con merengue or cookies filled with milk caramel spread coated with meringue  (saying it in Latin American makes it sound even more delish) were “pasalubongs” from our visitors from Buenos Aires last week. Thank you, dear teammate, for saving a couple for me.

Muy, muy, muy delicioso! The muy delicioso–ness was so irresistible that I just had to google what Alfajor is.

From Wikipedia: An alfajor or alaju (plural: alfajores; derived from Arabic, meaning “luxury” or “exquisite”).

From About.com: Alfajores are sandwich cookies filled with dulce de leche, a creamy caramel confection made from milk and sugar. Alfajores have their origins in the Middle East. The Spaniards acquired their alfajor habit from the Moors, and brought it to South America, where alfajores have become an institution. There are restaurant chains dedicated entirely to the alfajor cookie, whose brand names are as recognizable and ubiquitous as Starbucks in the US. (La Casa del Alfajor in Peru and Havanna in Argentina are famous examples, but there are many more). The typical alfajor is made with two slightly sweet shortbread-like cookies. Dulce de leche is the most common filling. There are many variations on this standar – nuts, fruits, and chocolates are popular additions. True alfajor aficionados prefer to eat the cookies a day or two after they are made when the cookies have softened and melded with the filling.

I guess what I really love about the taste is that the dulce de leche part reminded me of my fraternal grandmother’s homemade leche flan, the best flan I had ever tasted. It brought me back to my childhood days at the province. Sadly, my grandmother, who is now in her 90’s has dementia. She wasn’t able to pass on the recipe to anyone. Lots of aunts tried or had their own recipes but they can never ever compare to my grandmother’s flan.

I am saving my second Alfajor for tomorrow. Oh, muy dificil!

